Welcome to the holding page of Theater der Welt 2023

»Theater der Welt« is considered one of the most important events in the international theatre scene. Initiated by the International Theatre Institute (ITI) at the end of the 1970s, it allows audiences to experience ground-breaking achievements and aesthetic developments in theatre from all over the world every three years in different cities and regions of Germany.

»Theater der Welt« is the state-of-the-art in performance. Switching venues, curators and organisers for each edition creates valuable synergies: between the local institutions involved, the various theatres in the respective festival cities, the international programme, as well as both local and international audiences. »Theater der Welt« is unique, time and time again.

The 16th edition of the festival will take place from 29 June to 16 July 2023 in Frankfurt and Offenbach – initiated, organised and implemented by the three Frankfurt cultural institutions Künstler*innenhaus MousonturmMuseum Angewandte Kunst and Schauspiel Frankfurt, as well as the Amt für Kultur- und Sportmanagement der Stadt Offenbach (Offenbach Council Office for Cultural and Sports Management) as associated partner. For the first time in the history of the festival, the choice of programme directors for this edition was primarily motivated by the idea of the greatest possible change of perspective.

»Theater der Welt 2023« in Frankfurt-Offenbach, a festival of the International Theatre Institute (ITI), is organised by Künstler*innenhaus Mousonturm Frankfurt am Main, Schauspiel Frankfurt and Museum Angewandte Kunst Frankfurt, in cooperation with the Office for Cultural and Sports management of the City of Offenbach am Main. Funded by the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, the Hessian Ministry of Science and the Arts, the City of Frankfurt am Main – Cultural Department and the Kulturfonds Frankfurt RheinMain. With the friendly support of the Aventis Foundation. The educational programme is funded by the Crespo Foundation.